A Seagull Rescue to Remember


Seagulls can become entangled as a result of coming into contact with fishing gear and other objects that don't belong in the ocean (photo by depositphotos.com) .

One summer in 2009, I saved the life of an injured seagull whose right wing was entangled by small fishing nets. My mother and I were walking down a beach near Quincy, MA when we stopped by to the disturbing site of an injured seagull. Although the bird showed no sign of being in distress, it did however, looked like it was in some sort of pain. So I went up to the lifeguard and I told her about the injured bird and asked if there was anything we could do help it. Sadly, she replied by saying that the bird was better off being dead than saved. I was so upset that I had my mother call the New England Aquarium in Boston, MA to report an injured seagull. Before long, the aquarium sent animal control to pick up the bird in hope to rehabilitate animal. I helped this bird because I just could not watch it suffer a slow but, painful death.

If you see an entangled sea bird:

1.  Never attempt to feed the injured bird because it can bite.

2. Do not try to handle or bother the bird in any way. Also, be sure you keep pets and children away from it too.

3. Call wildlife officials right away and be sure you give them the exact location of the injured bird so they can get to it right away.

4. Let wildlife officials do their job by taking the bird in for rehabilitation.

Leave a Reply

